Happy Thanksgiving

by Bella Rum

image

I started a Thanksgiving post last night, but it refused to come together. It started, and then it meandered until it ended up on the chopping block. Gobble, gobble! I gave up and drank a glass of wine instead. Good choice.

I know it will feel a little strange today without Dad, but I’ll spend the day with the other person who misses him most. H and I will drive down to my brother’s in a while. Yes, we will eat oyster stuffing. I’m looking forward to it.

I made seven  layer cookie bars, baked beans and manpower salad/marinated vegetable salad yesterday, and I made a cake for Shanna. She settled in at Dad’s a few weeks ago. She texted me one night, “It feels like home.” How swiftly a house that was home to someone for over fifty years becomes home to someone else. And life takes another step forward.

One More Thing

You remember those seven layer cookie bars, don’t you? I believe they were also called Hello Dolly Bars. My sister used to make them back in the day. Oh, my golly. I’d forgotten how dangerous they are. I thought I’d make them as a nod to her. Holidays always make us remember, and those memories are often reflected in our food and recipes. Year after year, we make our mother’s baked beans and our sister’s cookie recipe and our father’s favorite oyster stuffing long after they are no longer with us. Life continues with a nod to those we’ve lost and loved. It is the way of holidays. We take stock, we remember, and we eat as if we’ll never eat again.

imageThis is not my photo. I stole it from the internet and the Google Police are on the way to my house.

These are easy to make. You don’t mess up a lot of bowls or have to bring out the mixer or blender. You just melt a stick of butter, add some graham cracker crumbs, press them into a baking dish and layer everything else on top. So easy, but beware.

Seven Layer Cookie Bars

1 stick of butter

1 1/2 cups Graham Cracker Crumbs

1 6-ounce package of semisweet chocolate morsels

1 6-ounce package butterscotch morsels

3 1/2 ounces flaked coconut

1 cup chopped nuts (I used pecans but anything goes.)

1 can Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk

Directions

Preheat oven to 350º.

Melt butter and combine with cracker crumbs. Press into bottom of well buttered or sprayed 13×9 inch baking dish. Sprinkle chocolate chips evenly on top of crumbs. Sprinkle butterscotch chips evenly on top of chocolate chips. Sprinkle coconut next. Sprinkle nuts next. Drizzle condensed milk over entire mixture. Bake 350º for twenty-five minutes. Cool to room temperature and cut into squares.

Happy Thanksgiving, everybody! Eat till you drop!

