Frostbite

by Bella Rum

fridge-organized_300How my refrigerator looks… in my dreams.

Today I discovered I don’t care much about having a clean house anymore. I’ve been cleaning since after breakfast. The grands will be here Thursday, but we’re having everyone here – my DIL’s family, too – for my granddaughter’s birthday/Easter this weekend. I used to love entertaining, and I will enjoy the actual day very much, but there’s so much to do before a party. I still have to shop and cook, etc. So what I’ve realized is, I’ve lowered my standards. I recommend it highly. Life is easier.

I was kvetching to my son last night about having too much food in the freezer. It’s stuffed with things that get pushed to the back, and the whole thing needs to be cleaned out. He said, “First  World problem, Mom.” Of course, he’s right. There are much worse problems. This I know.

But may I continue?

H’s remedy is to buy a freezer and put it in the garage. This makes sense only in H’s world. We are two people. Two! We do not need to fill another freezer with food that will stay there until the next millennium. I need to buy less and manage better. I know this is my problem. My freezer owns me.

And my brother gave us a country ham and another venison roast on Easter. We were thrilled, but do you know how much room a venison roast takes up in a freezer?

My DIL loves my fridge. Sometimes when she opens the door, I hear her say in amazement, “Look at all this food.” The first time I heard her, I was a little embarrassed, “I know. It’s overkill.” She said, “No, no. I love it. There’s always something to eat or something I can use to make something to eat.” She is a great cook.

Naturally, it’s always filled to the max when they visit because we go from a family of two to a family of seven. I make tons of food before they arrive, and every scrap is gone when they leave, which is exactly how I like it. Nothing is wasted.

Okay, enough.

So.

Have you noticed how, when asked a question, everyone on television begins their answer with “So” now? I only recently noticed this. An anchor will ask a pundit a question, and he/she will say, “So, blah, blah, blah.”  It’s become the new “like.” Like, everything begins with so. Like, what’s up with that?

So affected.

I’m currently in the Middle East with my globe-trotting memorization project. It’s pretty easy. Their countries are so large, except when they’re not. Asia and Africa will be a challenge.

I finished my first book for the book club I joined – The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom. It was okay, but it didn’t knock my socks off. Our first meeting is Monday. It will be interesting to see what the others think, and even more interesting to see what the food is like. Cuz if the food is good, it will make up for the slow-moving book. That right there is all you need to know about my priorities. See. Shallow.

There will be food. Right?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

